Staff & Board

Mary Jo Burgess
Executive Director/CEO

Katherine Elliott
Director of Community Relations and Development

Kathy Clark
Assistant Director of Community Relations

Delaina Netherland Smiley
Community Engagement Coordinator

Paquita Hanks
Community Engagement Coordinator

DeAnn Colegrove
Facility and Project Manager

Amy McDonald
Program Director

Joni Lunsford
Assistant Program Director

Laura Beam
Case Supervisor

Nichole Branch
Case Supervisor

Marlene McDade
Case Supervisor

Laci Murray
Case Supervisor

Morgan Wolford
Case Supervisor

2021 board of directors

Jerrod Fishback, Chair – College Ministries Pastor , Rose Height Church

Robert Rivers, Chair-Elect – Plant Manager, Trane Technologies

Tameeka Mitchell, Secretary –  HR/Business Office Manager, KETK-TV

Gregory Parker, Treasurer – Tax Supervisor, Gollob Morgan Peddy P.C.

Edward Moore,  Immediate Past Chair – President/CEO, Greater Tyler Association of Realtors

Tom Mullins, Ex Officio – Past President/CEO Tyler Chamber of Commerce and Tyler Economic Development Council

Officer Scott Behrend – Community Resource Officer, Tyler Police Department

David Bush – Shareholder, Kent, Anderson, Bush, Frost & Metcalf, P.C.

Lamond Dean – Superintendent, Chapel Hill ISD

Nan Moore – Owner Mainstream Boutique, Past CEO Smith County United Way

April Munoz – Bilingual/ESL Coordinator, Chapel Hill ISD

Sandra Owens, Ed.D – Retired Tyler ISD

Marina Schroeder – Senior Vice President, Morgan Stanley

Julie Shamburger – Senior Executive VP and CFO, Southside Bank

Kent Willis, PhD – Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler


New Position Available in January, 2021

Part-time Community Relations Assistant

The Community Relations Assistant will serve as the primary position for answering phones and greeting guests.  The Assistant will perform general clerical duties. Regular schedule to be determined with Supervisor.


  1. High School degree or GED with some college preferred.
  2. Minimum of two years administrative/clerical experience.
  3. Outstanding inter-personal skills a must.
  4. Accurate typing and data entry skills at 50 wpm (word processor/computer skills).
  5. Ability to work independently as well as in a team environment.
  6. Ability to prioritize duties.
  7. Excellent written and oral communication skills.
  8. Ability to maintain confidential information.


The Community Relations Assistant reports to the Facility and Project Manager.


  1. Answer phones.
  2. Greet, screen and admit visitors.
  3. Track donations in database.
  4. Draft and distribute thank you letters to donors.
  5. Maintain office supplies.
  6. Run occasional errands.
  7. Assist with set up of rooms for training/events.
  8. Coordinate mailings, including volunteer birthday cards.
  9. Track employee leave and time sheets.
  10. Complete and assist with projects as assigned.
  11. Complete other duties as assigned.

Interested applicates should send a letter of interest and resume to Executive Director Mary Jo Burgess at

Interviews will be held in January.